TRANSPORTATION POLICY BOARD MEETING MINUTES

Of June 25, 2021

Call to Order:

Chairperson Lina Ortega called the Transportation Policy Board (TPB) meeting to order at 9:02 am at the El Paso MPO Office, 211 N. Florence, Boardroom Suite 103, and El Paso, TX 79901, conducted telephonically and by video conference. TPB Member attendance was as follows:

MEMBERS PRESENT	TITLES	MEMBERS ABSENT	TITLES
1. Lina Ortega (Chair)	TX State Representative, 77th District	Joseph Cervantes	NM Senator, District 31
2. Walter Miller (V-Chair)	Alderman 1, Town of Horizon	Esteban Olivas	Alderman, Town Clint
3. Claudia Ordaz-Perez	TX State Representative – 76th District	Ellen Smyth	Director, Mass Transit-Sun Metro
4.		Raymundo Lara	NM State Representative – 34th District
5. Manuel Leos	Mayor, Village of Vinton	Benjamin Romero	Mayor, Town of Anthony, TX
6. Cissy Lizarraga	City Representative, District 8	Diana Trujillo	Mayor Anthony, NM
7. Ricardo Samaniego	Judge, El Paso County	Chuck McMahon	Doña Ana County Assist. Manager of Operations
8. Yvette Hernandez	Grant Funded Program Director, COEP	Trent Doolittle	District Engineer, NMDOT
9. Cassandra Hernandez	City Representative – District 3		
10. Tommy Gonzalez	City Manager, City of El Paso		
11. Norma Palacios	Public Works Director, County of El Paso		
12. Henry Rivera	City Representative – District 7		
13.			
14. Tomas Trevino	District Engineer, TXDOT – El Paso		
15. Iliana Holguin	El Paso County Commissioner, Precinct 3	MPO STAFF	
16. Sam Rodriguez	Director of Aviation, EP International Airport	Sergio Estrada	MPO/TPB Attorney
17. Oscar Leeser	Mayor, City of El Paso	Eduardo Calvo	Executive Director
18.		Gabriela Lopez	Associate Regional Transportation Analyst
19. Ivy Avalos	Mayor, City of Socorro	Marisol Enriquez	Admin. Secretary / TPB Recording Sec
20. Antonio Araujo	Mayor City of San Elizario	Claudia Valles	Transportation Planner
21. Joe Moody	TX State Representative – 78th District	Lizeth Peña	Administrative Specialist
22. César Blanco	TX State Senator	Sonia Perez	Regional Transportation Planner
23. Art Fierro	TX State Representative – 79th District		
24. Mary E. Gonzalez	TX State Representative – 75th District		
25. Javier Perea	Mayor, Sunland Park, NM		
OTHERS PRESENT		OTHERS PRESENT	
Art Estrada – TXDOT	Marty Boyd - TXDOT		
Blanca Serrano – TXDOT	Maya Sanchez – San Elizario		
Cassandra Urrutia – Rep. L	ina Michelle Padilla – Horizon City		
Ortega			
David Cantu – City of El Paso Nicholette Ruiz –Judge			
Samaniego's Office			
Don Flores - HNTB Priscilla Contreras –Rep. Her			
	Rivera		
	eeser Teresa Quezada – Horizon City		
Jose Landeros – TPAC V-Chair Thelma Ramirez- TXDOT			

(Meeting began with 19 members)

DISCUSSION AND ACTION:

- Approve the minutes of the May 25, 2021 Transportation Policy Bard (TPB) meeting.
 Motion to approve the minutes for the May 25, 2021 Transportation Policy Board (TPB) meeting, made by Mayor Oscar Leeser, and seconded by Alderman Walter Miller. Motion passed unanimously.
- Approve the Federal Fiscal Year (FFY) 2022-2023 Unified Planning Work Program (UPWP).
 Motion to approve the Federal Fiscal Year (FFY) 2022-2023 Unified Work Program (UPWP), made by Alderman Walter Miller and seconded by Representative Art Fierro. Motion passed unanimously.

^{*} Judge Samaniego: signed up for Initial Public Comment.

DISCUSSION AND ACTION TO APPROVE RECOMMENDATIONS FROM THE TRANSPORTATION PROJECT ADVISORY COMMITTEE TO:

- 3. Authorize the Transportation Policy Board Chair to sign a resolution of support for the Town of Horizon City's application for U.S. Department of Transportation (USDOT) RAISE grant funds for the following project
 - a) Transit Oriented Development Infrastructure-Phase 1.

Motion to authorize the Transportation Policy Board Chair to sign a resolution of support for the Town of Horizon City's application for U.S. Department of Transportation (USDOT) RAISE grant funds for the following project

- a) Transit Oriented Development Infrastructure-Phase 1.,
- made by Alderman Walter Miller, and seconded Commissioner Iliana Holguin. Thomas Trevino abstained, motion passed.
- 4. Approve the June 2021 Project Readiness Report.

Motion to approve the June 2021 Project Readiness Report, made by Mayor Manuel Leos, and seconded by Representative Mary Gonzalez. Motion passed unanimously.

- Amend the Destino 2045 Metropolitan Transportation Plan (MTP), Amended Destino 2045 MTP, Destino 2019-2023 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP), and Destino 2021-2024 TIP to:
 - a) Program the NM 213 Widening Preliminary Engineering Phase project using \$1,200,000 of Surface Transportation Program (STP) Non-Chargeable in Fiscal Year (FY) 2022
 - b) Amend the Industrial Avenue Grade Separation project to move from FY 2021 to FY 2022
 - c) Deprogram the Rio Grande Trail Phase I project from FY 2021

Motion to amend the Destino 2045 Metropolitan Transportation Plan (MTP), Amended Destino 2045 MTP, Destino 2019-2023 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP), and Destino 2021-2024 TIP to:

a) Program the NM 213 Widening Preliminary Engineering Phase project using \$1,200,000 of Surface Transportation Program (STP) Non-Chargeable in Fiscal Year (FY) 2022

made by Alderman Walter Miller, and seconded by Representative Cissy Lizarraga. Motion passed unanimously.

Motion to amend the Destino 2045 Metropolitan Transportation Plan (MTP), Amended Destino 2045 MTP, Destino 2019-2023 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP), and Destino 2021-2024 TIP to:

- b) Amend the Industrial Avenue Grade Separation project to move from FY 2021 to FY 2022 made by Commissioner Iliana Holguin, and seconded by Norma Palacios. Motion passed unanimously.
- Motion to delete Item 5C to amend the Destino 2045 Metropolitan Transportation Plan (MTP), Amended Destino 2045 MTP, Destino 2019-2023 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP), and Destino 2021-2024 TIP to:
- c) Deprogram the Rio Grande Trail Phase I project from FY 2021 made by Alderman Walter Miller, and seconded by Commissioner Iliana Holguin. Motion passed unanimously.

REPORTS AND DISCUSSION:

6. RMS 2050 Travel Demand Model Status Report Status report provided by EPMPO – Claudia Valles

*Walter Miller commented.

*Eduardo Calvo commented.

- 7. Regional Mobility Strategy (RMS) 2020 Project Development Status Report Status report provided by EPMPO Eduardo Calvo
- 8. Executive Director's Report

Status report provided by EPMPO - Eduardo Calvo

The **next meeting** of the TPB is scheduled for <u>9:00 a.m.</u> on <u>July 23, 2021</u> at the El Paso MPO Office located at 211 N. Florence Street, Suite 103 (MPO Boardroom on 1st Floor), El Paso, TX 79901.

*These projects met the seven-day public comment requirement of the El Paso MPO's Public Participation Plan.

9. Adjournment.

Motion to adjourn at 9:51 a.m. made by Mayor Oscar Leeser, seconded by Representative Henry Rivera. Motion carried unanimously.

EXECUTIVE SESSION:

The Transportation Policy Board may retire into **EXECUTIVE SESSION** pursuant to the Texas Government Code, Chapter 551, Subchapter D, to discuss any of the following: (The items listed below are matters of the sort routinely discussed in Executive Session, but the Transportation Policy Board may move to Executive Session any of the items on this agenda, consistent with the terms of the Open Meetings Act.) The Transportation Policy Board will return to open session to take any final action and may also, at any time during the meeting, bring forward any of the following items for public discussion, as appropriate.

The TPB did not retire into Executive Session.

Approved as to content:

Marisol Enriquez, Recording Secretary of the

Transportation Policy Board for the El Paso MPO Study Area